TruckingTruth logo

CDL Practice Test: Driving Rules & Regulations

These CDL practice questions are from our High Road Training Program, a CDL test preparation course designed to help you learn the CDL manual.

Our High Road Training Program has the entire CDL manual built right in along with multiple choice questions, a scoring system, and a review system to help reinforce the materials. It's highly effective, super easy to use, and free! Let me tall ya....using The High Road is a thousand times easier than trying to read the entire CDL manual cover to cover.

Click Here To Learn More

CDL Practice Test: Driving Rules & Regulations

Driving Rules & Regulations Questions

Click On The Picture To Begin

Good Luck!

Special lighting for commercial vehicles are required between what times?
  • Special lighting is recommended, but not legally required
  • One hour before sunset to one hour after sunrise
  • Special lighting must always be present on commercial vehicles
  • Sunset to sunrise
This is a question from page 5 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 10 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

Lighting equipment is required on vehicles operated outside the limits of cities, towns or villages between sunset and sunrise.

TruckingTruth's Advice:

Any burnt out lights or improperly displayed lights is one way law enforcement officers decide which trucks to inspect. So it is very important you always check your lights and have extra bulbs available in case any of them burn out.

Next
Combination vehicles longer than 25 feet or wider than 80 inches (excluding mirrors, bumpers and other safety devices) must have special lighting and reflective equipment. Which of the following is NOT required:
  • All of these are required
  • Three red lights on the rear of the vehicle in a horizontal line
  • Two yellow or amber lights on the front of the vehicle
  • Three white reflectors on the front of the vehicle
This is a question from page 5 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 10 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

Second division or combination vehicles longer than 25 feet or wider than 80 inches (excluding mirrors, bumpers and other safety devices) must have special lighting equipment. The following lighting equipment is required on vehicles operated outside the limits of cities, towns or villages between sunset and sunrise:

  • Two yellow or amber lights on the front of the vehicle. One light must be on each upper-front corner and visible for 500 feet.
  • Three red lights on the rear of the vehicle in a horizontal line and visible for 500 feet.
  • Two yellow or amber reflectors on the front of the vehicle. One reflector must be on each lower corner.
  • Two red reflectors on the rear of the vehicle. One reflector must be not more than 12 inches from each lower corner.
Prev
Next
What does GCWR stand for?
  • General Cargo Weight Rating
  • Gross Combined Weight Rating
  • Gross Combination Width Rating
  • General Contractor Weight Rating
This is a question from page 1 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 3 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

GCWR (Gross Combined Weight Rating) - Value specified by the manufacturer as the GVWR of the power unit plus the GVWR of the towed unit or units, or the combined registered weight of the power unit plus the towed unit(s).

TruckingTruth's Advice:

Be sure you understand the difference between GCWR and GVWR. It's best to memorize the meanings and definitions of both as it will probably show up on the written exam.

Prev
Next
Who must pass a DOT medical exam and carry a valid Medical Examiner's Certificate at all times while operating a commercial vehicle?
  • An operator of a commercial vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 10,001 pounds or more (both private and for hire)
  • An operator of a passenger carrying vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver
  • An operator of any vehicle transporting hazardous materials of a quantity that would require placarding
  • All of these require a DOT medical card
This is a question from page 2 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 6 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

You will need to carry a medical card with you if:

  • Operate a commercial vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 10,001 pounds or more in the furtherance of a commercial enterprise (private or for hire); or
  • Operate a passenger carrying vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver; or
  • Operate any vehicle transporting hazardous materials of a quantity that would require placarding.
Prev
Next
What is the maximum weight limit for a 5-axle combination vehicle?
  • 80,000 pounds
  • 20,000 pounds
  • 100,000 pounds
  • 34,000 pounds
This is a question from page 4 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 10 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

Weight

The maximum weight limits on both designated and non-designated streets and highways are:

  • 20,000 pounds on a single axle.
  • 34,000 pounds on a tandem, and
  • Up to 80,000 pounds of total weight on a 5-axle combination, depending upon axle spacing.
  • 20,000 pounds on a single axle
  • 34,000 pounds on a tandem
  • 80,000 pounds on a 5-axle combination, depending upon axle spacings.

TruckingTruth's Advice:

A "tandem" is a reference for a pair of axles. For example, the rear 2 axles on a tractor and the rear two axles on the trailer are considered tandems. So a single axle (such as the front axle) can have a maximum of 20,000 pounds. A tandem (two axles in close proximity) may have 34,000 pounds. But the entire weight of the vehicle can not exceed 80,000 pounds.

Prev
Next
Which of the following requires a class A CDL?
  • Combination vehicles with a GCWR of 26,001 or more pounds providing the GVWR of the vehicle being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds
  • Single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing another not in excess of 10,000 pounds
  • Single vehicle with a GVWR of less than 16,001 pounds
  • Single vehicle with a GVWR of at least 16,001 pounds but less than 26,001 pounds
This is a question from page 2 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 4 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

  • Class A Combination vehicles GCWR* of 26,001 or more pounds providing the GVWR of the vehicle being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
  • Class B Single vehicle with a GVWR* of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing another not in excess of 10,000 pounds.
  • Class C Single vehicle with a GVWR* of at least 16,001 pounds but less than 26,001 pounds.
  • Class D Single vehicle with a GVWR* of less than 16,001 pounds.

*GCWR Gross Combination Weight Rating

*GVWR Gross Vehicle Weight Rating

Prev
Next
Serious traffic violations carry additional penalties. All of these are serious traffic violations, except:
  • Excessive speeding
  • Following too closely
  • All of these answers are serious traffic violations
  • No valid CDL
This is a question from page 3 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 8 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

Excessive speeding involving any single offense for any speed of 15 mph or more above the posted speed limit.

  • Failure to reduce speed to avoid an accident.
  • Driving too fast for conditions.
  • Exceeding the speed limit in a school zone.

Reckless Driving Operating a CMV or non-CMV in a manner that exhibits a willful, wanton or reckless disregard of the safety of persons or property.

  • Passing a vehicle stopped for a pedestrian in a crosswalk.
  • Driving on a sidewalk.
  • Passing a school bus receiving or discharging passengers or displaying a warning not to pass.

No Valid CDL Operating a CMV without a valid CDL.

  • Operating a CMV with an improper classification or restriction.
  • Violation of an instruction permit.

Following Too Closely Following the vehicle ahead too closely.

  • Failure of a truck to leave sufficient distance for being overtaken by another vehicle.

Improper Lane Usage Improper or erratic traffic lane changes.

  • Improper lane changing, lane usage and/or center lane usage.
  • Improper passing.
  • Passing on a hill or curve or when prohibited.
  • Passing on wrong side of the road.
  • Improper passing on shoulder, left or right.
  • Driving wrong way on a one-way street or highway.
  • Driving on the left side of the roadway.
  • Passing in a school zone.

Conviction Involving a Fatal Accident A violation of any state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control (other than parking violations) arising in connection with a fatal traffic accident.

Multiple Licenses A violation relating to a CMV driver having multiple driver's licenses.

Two serious traffic violations within a three-year period results in a two-month disqualification.

Three serious traffic violations in the same period results in a four-month disqualification.

Prev
Next
A commercial driver may be placed out of service with how much alcohol in his/her system?
  • Any amount
  • BAC of .02
  • BAC of .08
  • BAC of .04
This is a question from page 3 - click here to look up the answer

Quote From Page 8 Of The Illinois CDL Manual:

Illinois law requires drivers operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) or a non-commercial motor vehicle (nonCMV) on highways to automatically give their consent to submit to certain tests to determine blood-alcohol concentration (BAC). A CDL holder may not operate a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04 or more or a noncommercial vehicle with a BAC of .08 or more.

  • Any driver operating a CMV or non-CMV who refuses to submit to chemical testing or submits to a test with results in excess of the legal limit is disqualified for a minimum 12 months.
  • Any driver convicted of DUI (regardless of BAC) is disqualified for a minimum 12 months.
  • If either violation above takes place while transporting placarded hazardous materials, the driver is disqualified for a minimum three years.
  • A driver who commits two of the above violations, arising from two or more incidents, is disqualified for life.
  • A CDL holder operating a CMV found to have any alcohol in his or her system is placed out of service for at least 24 hours.
  • Anyone convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with any amount of drug, substance or compound resulting from unlawful use or consumption of cannabis listed in the Cannabis Control Act or controlled substance listed in the Controlled Substance Act is disqualified for a minimum 12 months.

TruckingTruth's Advice:

CDL holders can be criminally charged for driving under the influence with a .04 BAC or higher, but will be placed out of service for 24 hours if any trace of alcohol is detected in their system

Prev
Finish
Please select an option
[4,4,2,4,1,1,3,1]
8

Ready For A Quiz? Pick A Category:

Join Us!

We have an awesome set of tools that will help you understand the trucking industry and prepare for a great start to your trucking career. Not only are they fantastic, but everything we offer here at TruckingTruth is 100% free - no strings attached! So sign up now and get instant access to our member's section, including:
High Road Training Program Logo
  • The High Road Training Program
  • The High Road Article Series
  • The Friendliest Trucker's Forum Ever!
  • Private messaging for more personal questions
  • Email Updates When New Articles Are Posted

About Us

Picture Of Brett Aquila
TruckingTruth was founded by Brett Aquila (that's me!), a 15 year truck driving veteran, in January 2007. After 15 years on the road I wanted to help people understand the trucking industry and everything that came with the career and lifestyle of an over the road trucker. We'll help you make the right choices and prepare you for a great start to your trucking career.